GWA Logo

Events for 2020

IMPORTANT NOTICE
Due to the coronavirus outbreak, and with immediate effect, all Guild of Wiltshire Artists workshops and events are CANCELLED until further notice. (17 March 2020)


Members' Monthly Meetings
are held at either Hook Village Hall (SN4 8EA) or Broad Town Village Hall (SN4 7RL).

The programme is varied and includes painting evenings, mini workshops, demonstrations by visiting artists* and Guild members, in addition to the Annual General Meeting.

The remaining monthly meeting dates for 2020, workshop details and demonstration events are given below:

VENUE DESCRIPTION
HOOK
Mon 17 Aug
7:15 - 9:15pm
Workshop
Create a design inspired by William Morris, Gaudi, Rennie-Macintosh, Picasso or Mucha.
HOOK
Mon 21 Sep
7:15 - 9:15pm
Workshop
Somewhere or Something of Personal Significance in Mixed Media.
HOOK
Mon 19 Oct
7:15 - 9:15pm
Open Evening Demonstration*
with artist Tim Wilmot
A Street Scene in Watercolo
BROAD TOWN
Sat 14 Nov
10am - 3pm
Workshop
Timed Quick Sketches
(10 - 15 minute poses) Figure/portrait drawing with clothed sitters.
BROAD TOWN
Sat 10 Dec
10am - 3pm
Painting workshop and Christmas Party

* Demonstrations by outside artists are usually open to visitors and these are marked as "Open" events.

Directions:


If you need further information about our events or workshops, please don't hesitate to contact us by sending an email to the Guild Secretary.


Broad Town Workshops (open to non-members)
9.45 am** - 3 pm, Broad Town Village Hall
(**9.30 am for volunteers setting up tables etc.)

Two day-time painting workshops are held each month (one on a Friday, another on a Saturday). These take place at the Village Hall in Broad Town (just outside Wootton Bassett) and are open to non-members at a cost of £5 per person with tea, coffee and biscuits provided. Note that these are untutored workshops, just bring your own materials and whatever you are working on and paint or draw in the company of other members and non-members.

The workshop dates for 2020 are as follows:

FRIDAY SATURDAY
Friday 3rd January Saturday 18th January
Friday 7th February Saturday 22nd February
Friday 6th March Saturday 21st March
Friday 3rd April Saturday 18th April
Friday 1st May Saturday 16th May
Friday 5th June Saturday 20th June
Friday 3rd July Saturday 18th July
Friday 7th August Saturday 22nd August
Friday 4th September Saturday 19th September
Friday 2nd October Saturday 17th October
Friday 6th November Saturday 21st November
Friday 4th December Christmas Break

Directions: Broad Town Village Hall is situated on the main road through the village, on the left hand side as you begin to go up the hill towards Broad Hinton, and almost opposite Pye Lane. See map below.


Exhibitions

Every year The Guild holds a summer art exhibition at St. Peter's church Marlborough. Unfortunately, with the advent of the Covid 19 pandemic, this year we have had to forgo our 2020 exhibition.

We hope to exhibit there in summer next year and of course we are keen to see what the Church Trust's approach to managing coronavirus safety is. Well looks it like they have been pretty thorough so get painting members - the prospects look good.

Thanks to Jacqui Mason for the photo and bringing this to the Guild's attention.